The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a widely debated issue of that the well-being of a society is intimately associated with the authorities. Indisputably, the people’s representatives can influence directly the life of everyone. Their main role is to create and revoke laws that rules our society. Nevertheless, the statement presents a very narrow claim, showing that the questioning and well-being are mutually true. However, the public life is very complex and various other facts should also be evaluated. Thus, I disagree with the fact that that the quality of life inside a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

First of all, the authorities are the direct representatives of a society. Considering that the statement is based on a democratic nation, the representatives are selected by the popular vote. Therefore, accepting the statement that authority and well-being of a society are linked, in the first first place, people should vote consciously to avoid an excessive discontent and consequently a high hate of dubious and questioning of their authority. For example, politicians on their pre-election phases are always listening to the public opinion to mold their campaign. In this way, the majority of electors will choose the candidates that probably will enhance the society. In other words, people should question the authorities before selecting them. Doing that belatedly may be effective but it is far from the best case scenario.

Secondly, a regime that have a lot of questioning are probably allied with problems and bad administration. For instance, the political world have ways to combat that using a tool called “impeachment”. When people are unhappy with their authority, it could be resigned by other politicians. However, the history showed that events like that demands a lot of time to be solved and the society suffer during this process. So, questioning is important but the well-being of a society could be an long-term effect.

Admittedly, it is almost mandatory that authority should be questioned by the society. This act shows that people are concerned and evaluating the work that the representatives are doing. Conversely, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to contend that well-being and questioning are linked. In a hypothetical reality when we have very good authorities that bring a highly quality of life to its inhabitants, this is a reflex of a good administration and public questioning dispensable in that case.

In sum, although people should question authority, this claim tend to veer off in irrelevant directions when the subject is the well-being of a society. As long as the representatives are doing their job correctly, people should focus on supervise the authority and also select the right people during election. In fact, the questioning should be done before authority assume their jobs to avoid any trouble or bad administration during their work.