Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cars are one of the most popular mode of transportation in today's world. Having a car is a sign of prestige in our society. Personally, I do not agree with the statement because I do not believe that the number of cars will decrease in the next twenty years. I feel this way for three reasons, that I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, cars are very comfortable modes of transportation as compared to other public modes of transportation such as buses, trains and metros. Cars provide with personal space and relaxed travelling. For this purpose, most of the people prefer owning a car for their comfort and privacy. It is the nature of human to seek for more luxury and ease in their daily life. This behavior of human will directly influence the production of more luxurious cars which will lead to more cars in use than there are today.

Secondly, population of the world is increasing daily at a very high rate. So, to fulfill their commuting needs more transportation tools must be introduced. Looking at the trend, they are more likely to get a car than use the public mode of transportation. Also, the advent of electric cars have largely attracted the public to use the transport based on renewable sources of energy (electricity). So we are more likely to see the increase of cars in use in future than today.

Moreover, the relationship between social status and cars is highly related in our society. Owning a car that is high in quality corresponds to high social status. As a result, people are attracted to the idea of having a car in order to maintain social status. This is eventually lead to dramatic increase in the population of car owning people as well as cars.

However, this might not be the same case in about a century because the cars would grow exponentially and there will not be enough roads and resources to accommodate then. But if we are talking about the next twenty years, there will be more cars than they are today due to preference of people in comfortable life style, linkage between social status and car and to accommodate the increasing population.