Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement presents a claim that the governments need to provide financial support for their major cities to maintain the cities’ development because these places are generating and preserving the nation’s traditional cultures. Although this sounds correct, there are more aspects that might be analysed.

In the first place, it is important that the nation maintain their major cities in order to thrive them. The biggest centers are responsible for a great part of the country’s development and a financial support to these cities is mandatory for a government that is concerned about their people.

However, the reason claimed by the text is that the cities will thrive due to the creation and preservation of the nation’s cultural traditions. Notably, the culture is very important for a society, but it can’t be the main subject of a nation. The focus of the politics might be health, education and safety. The main cities ought to receive money in order to increase and to solve their social problems and that is the paper of the governments. A place without basic infrastructure will be never a good place to live even with a rich culture.

Indeed, this type of governs’ plan exist nowadays and are very dangerous to the people. There are a lot of places, for example in Middle East, where the religion and other cultural traditions are the main excuse and explanation for dictators to be in place. Also, the fanatic promoted by the governments is the main tool to alienate and blind the society, on the other hand, they claim to be some type of “god” sent by the superior creatures and what they say are absolute true and cannot be refuted by their people.

Under those circumstances, the nation’s cultural traditions are important to the people and have to be preserved and created, however it cannot be mixed with money and politics. The major cities have an essential paper in the country and the government need to supply them in the best way possible, but with the right reasons.