The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order todecide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The contents of this memo suggests that increasing the advertising budget is the best way to increase the public's awareness that Super Screen makes good quality movies, and will therefore improve attendance. As the percentage of positive reviews of movies have gone up this year, the memo suggests that although the movies are better now than they were before, the public does not know yet that the movies have improved. In order to decide if this argument is reasonable, it is important to know the percentage of people who gave positive reviews this year and in previous years, know the type of advertising proposed, and to see if there are other reasons for the drop in attendance.

It is important to determine what is the cause for the drop of attendence. The memo suggests that attendance dropped because the public does not know that Super Screen makes good quality movies. However, it is possible that attendance has decreased due to other factors such as the price of the ticket, the number of movie theaters the movies are shown at and the number of movies that have been produced. For example, if last year the movies were shown in 1000 theaters, and in this year they were only shown in one theater, it would be expected that the drop in attendance is due to the lack of theaters the movie is being shown at. Increasing advertising will not be able to balance the loss of 99.9% of movie theaters.

Another question that will need to be addressed is what is the actual percentage of positive reviews of Super Screen movies reletive to the competition. If Super Screen movies have significantly less proportion of positive reviews compared to this competition, it will challenge the assumption that Super Screen movies are good quality. Also if there is a slight increase in positive reviews, it does not mean that the movies are better this year than in previous years, and therefore trying to show that the movies are of good quality will be ineffective.

Another question is the type of advertisment being suggested. If the advertising does not highlight the increase of movie quality, it will not be effective to teach the public that the movies are good quality.

Overall, this memo has some assumptions that need to addressed, before it can be concluded if the recommendation is valid. It is important to know about all the factors that caused the decrease in movie attendance, rather than jumping to conclusions about the cause of the movie attendance decrease.