"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The above recommends that manned space flight is costly as well as risky and we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.This arguement is rife with holes and is bolstered by some unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands.

In the past decade the use technology has skyrocketed and plethora of advancements are made in it. The first libe of the argument states that manned space flight is coslty as well as dangerous. This statement is vague and mysterious as no evidence is provided regarding the cost difference in manned and unmanned space flights. Also no incidents are attached to prove that manned space fligts is dangerous. Space crafts are created and manufctured by men/women and they have intricate details regarding the functionality of each component.

The second line states that in recent unmanned space probes many useful information was gathered.But it nowhere mentions that manned space flights didn't discover useful information.It also states that manned space fligts possess a great risk without any documents attached to it regarding previous incidents.Rather if a man is travelling on a space flight and something goes wrong then it can be controlled by the person travelling on the space craft.If we send an unmanned space craft and some problems occur in the system then the whole space flight would go out of control which possess a great risk of cost.

The last sentence of the arguement asserts that we should invest more resources in unmanned space craft.This statement is vague as the preceding statements aren't bolstered with legitimate proofs and documents.Without proper research one should not invest resources as it could have detrimental effects on the space flights.

Therefore, there aren't enough statistics or proper research results to agree with the above arguement. If the editor of the National Aeronautics magazine would have buttressed the arguement with some real life incidents rather than theoritical explanation then we could conclude of investing more resources in unmanned space flights.