The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument makes a number of unsubstantiated assumptions regarding the solution for reverse the trend of declining sales. In general, careful examination of this supporting evidence reveals that it lends little credible to the applicant’s claims. There remain some questions that need answering before any steps can be taken.

The argument assums that the cause of sales increase in Fish Emporium was advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly. However, there is no other information about this shop. For instance, the cause of good sales could has been the improvement of quality of their products or the decrease of costs. Without other information about Fish Emporium shop it can be a mistake to deside that advertising in magazine was the cause of increasing sales.

Another assumption the argument makes is that Top Dog shop should start placing ads in Exotic Pets Monthly because of this shop has some of its largest stores in Gulf City. It is not clear the linkinking between the size of shop and the placing ads in magazine. For example, the reason of starting ads in magazin could be profit. If authors do not give more information about it this assumtion can not be reliable.

Besides, it could be the wrong decision to place ads in purpose to reverse the recent trend of declining sales. There can be other causes of decreasing sales. For example, the location of the shop or the bad quality of staff could be the causes of bad sales. The author has to provide more information about the Top Dog shop.

In conclusion, the recommendation for placing ads in the magazine is not well supported. To strenthen it the author has to give more evidence about the causes of increasing sales in Fish Emporium. The author must also provide information about the linking between Top Dog shop and reason for placing ads. Besides this, there is no information about the Top Dog shop because it could have been other causes of decreseanig sales. Unless the assumptions are addressed the argument will fall apart and it might make a mistake to place ads in magazine for the perpose to increase sales.