The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument makes a number unsubatantiated assumptions regarding stoppting funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. In general, careful examination of the supporting evidence reveals that it lends little credible to support applications claim. There remain some questions that need answering before any steps can be taken.

The argument assumes that two times bigger attendance at the concerts is a reason to stop funding. However, it is not clear what the attendace was last year. For instance, the attendance might have been very low and after increasing it the attendace could has been still not big. As a result, this assumption does not prove that Symphony is good payment by big numbers of selling tickets.

Another unsataed assumption the argument makes is that the increasing of the tickets’ price will improve the economics situation. Nevertheless, there is no information about previous tickets’ price and, for example, the price could have been not high next year. Therefore, the Symphony will not have a lot of money. Unless the author provides the numbers the argument can not be effective.

Besides it, the author assumes that after increasing by 200 percent the private contributions to the symphony it is not necessary to fund from government. But, there is no information about what contribution was. It could have been that this amount was extrimely low. Without this information it might be a mistake to stop funding.

In conclusion, the recommendation to eliminate funding is not well supported. To strenghten it the author has to provide information about previous ticket’s price, the attendance in last year at the concerts and the amount of funding. Unless, the assumption adderssed the argument will fall apart and it could have been a wrong decision to stop funding Grandview Symphony Orchestra.