The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument makes a number of unsubatantiated assumptions regarding use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia for decreasing absenteeism in schools and workplaces. In general, careful examination this supporting evedence reveals that it lends little credible evidence to the application’claim. There remaind some questions that need answering before any steps can be taken.

The argument claims that plant beneficia in East Meria is very high. However, there are no any information, numbers or compatison with consumption of this plant in West Meria. It could have been that the consumption of this plant in West Meria the same as in West Meria or the population of East Meria much higher than in West Meriaand as a result the consumption is larger. Without more information about comarison of consumption of beneficia in these two cities the assumption is not effective.

Another unstated assumption the argument makes is that the situation in East Meria is good example for increasing consumption of beneficia in West Meria. Nevertheles, there is no other information about condition in East Meria. For instance, it could have been that the preventative measures in East Meria is better: sport is more popular in the city or it is popular in East Meria to have yearly visit to doctor. Unless the author povides the comparison between these two cities it might have been a mistake to add this plant in people’s nutrition.

Besides it, the argument claims that colds are the main reason for absentism from work and school. But, it are no information or numbers about it. For example, the most frequently reseason could have been broken legs or hands. Without tables with this information it could have been a wrong decision to add plant beneficia.

In conclusion, the recommendation to use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia is not well-supported. In strentghen it the author has to provide more information about consumption of beneficia in East Meria per people and compare it with consumption of beneficia in West Meria per people. the author must also provide evidence that the factors affecting to the level of people that have cold are essential the same in these two towns. Moreover, the author has to provide better evidence that the main reason for absentism from work is colds. Unless, the assumptins addressed the argument will fall apert and it might have been a mistake to add plant beneficia in food.