The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument makes a number of unsubstantiated assumptions regarding the profitability of jazz music club in Monroe. In general, careful examination to this supporting evidence reveals that it lends little credibly support to this applicant’s claim. There remain some questoins that need be answering before any steps can be taken.

The argument assumes that if 100000people attendet Monroe's jazz festival than jazz music club in Monroe will be popular. However, it could be that the majority of the people that came to festival were from other cities. Therefore, it could be that there are a lack of jazz fans in Monroe.

Another unstated assumtions the argument makes that the jazz music club will profitable because several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe. Nevertheless, it is not clear how this fact affect to popularity of the new club. These popular jazz musicians might be spent whole their times out of the city, having world tours. Unless the author provides more information about these popular musicians then it could be a wrong decision to open jazz club.

Besides it, the author based on nationwide study claims that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, it is not clear the representative and the valididty of this survey. It can be asked only among juzz clubs and, moreover, it is not clear the purpose of their spendig money. The jazz entertainment might have been a numer of big concerts but not the concert in jazz club. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid and relibly it is not be used for proving the argument.

In conclusion, the recommendation to open jazz club in Monroe is not well supported. To strenghten the argument the author has to provide better evidence about popularity of jazz in the city. The author must also provide the more information about nationwide study that he mentioned. Unless, the assumption addressed the argument falls apart and it might be a mistake to open jazz club.