The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe."A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our pro

The developers of projects of all types, in their enthusiasm tend to focus heavily on the positives of their planned projects while overlooking the possible negatives. It requires a balanced view to analyze it pragmatically. A balanced analysis brings out too many unwarranted assumptions on the part of the developers here in their points towards their club C Note.

To start with, the developers have considered the long distance to the nearest club as a strong selling point for their club. This cannot be used as a strong point without getting the data on the frequency of club visits by the locals. The question that needs to be answered here is "Do the locals visit Jazz clubs so often that traveling 60 miles to the nearest one makes it a pain point for them?" Another point to be considered here is whether the local population has a sizeable number of Jazz fans or not.

To add to the points about fans of Jazz in the region, the developers bring in the popularity of Monroe Jazz festival which was apparently attended by over 100,000 people. That the developers consider all/most of the 100,000 people to be locals is a very weak assumption on their part. Music festivals tend to bring in fans from distant regions - including those from other countries. So, attributing such a large participation to regional population alone does not appear to be logical. In addition, the developers mention that several well known Jazz musicians live in Monroe which further weakens the point about the participants of the festivals being from Monroe alone as the musicians would have fans from various regions.

Since the developers have painted Monroe as a town popular for Jazz music, we should analyze if there is a shortage of clubs in Monroe before assuming that those people would find a need to travel 60 miles to visit a new club. The statement of developers about spending by Jazz fans' spending is akin to shooting in the air as the developers have not provided any details of the survey which matter a lot like the age group of the participants, income brackets etc.

To conclude, the pitch offered by the developers has too many assumptions to considered seriously. To strengthen their argument, many of the loose ends will have to be tied. To start with, the frequency of visit of the local jazz fans need to be considered to ensure that there would be enough footfalls to be profitable. The data on number of clubs around Monroe and whether fans from Monroe would find a need to travel 60 miles need to be obtained. Also, the spending capacity of the local Jazz fans should be considered instead of those nationwide. Without these improvements, the argument appears very unreasonable.