The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The welfare of a nation can be measured, if at all, by various means. Each person would have his own view point om what constitutes greatness. Since each citizen of a nation can be considered a building block of that nation, the welfare of those building blocks should be a prime indicator of the nation's greatness.

There are over 200 nations in the world as of 2018 and the state of welfare of their citizens lies across the spectrum. While some nations have the best standards of living and prosperity, some have severe poverty with most citizens living under difficult conditions. The same can be said of a nation's achievements. There are countries which have carried out space missions while some have difficulties manufacturing automobiles.

While a country's achievement in an important field like science adds highly to its greatness, that greatness wouldn't be of much value if the citizens are not able to lead a decent day to day life. For example, USSR of the former days was a leader in space missions, nuclear technology, weaponry, territory etc. In spite of that, many people could not live a free and independent life as the government suppressed free speech, businesses and many other fundamental things that add to the quality of life of its citizens. We could also consider India which was in news for its successful Mars mission while there are millions who still live below poverty line and do not stand to see any immediate benefit out of the funds spent for the mission.

Wealth of a country definitely plays a part in the welfare, but what matters more is how well it is distributed among the people. We have examples of many countries in Western Europe where the distribution of wealth is considered among the best in the world, where as in countries like United States, it is among the worst and is deteriorating. While USA is a nation that leads in terms of science, movies and even wealth, the same cannot be said about its citizens welfare as the distribution of wealth is increasingly skewing towards the top. Those European countries, despite being smaller economies provide better welfare to its people due to better distributed wealth structure.

To conclude, a nation is like an element that is made up of atoms. An element's stability depends on the stability of the individual atoms. Similarly, a nation or a civilization lasts longer if the citizens who are part of it are in a stable condition. While achievements in certain fields like entertainment, literature and science do add to the greatness, they don't count for much if the citizens are struggling to get through each day.