Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument makes a number of unsubstantiated assumptions regarding the cause of mammal extinction. In general, carefull examination these assumptions reveals that its lend little credible support to application’s claim. There remain some questions need annswering before concluding that the explanation of animals’ extinction is humans.

The argumen assumes that the places with discarded fish bones prove that people hunted. However, it is not clear the link between fish bones and animals. It is likely that fish bones prove that people fished. Without ant information about animals bones this assumption does not effective.

Another unstated assuption the argument makes is that tools, such as knives could have used for hunting. Nevertheless, there is no other information why scientists decided it. It could have been that people used knives for cooking fish or for drowing on the stones. Unless, the author provide additional evedence about it might be a mistake to assume that people were the cause of animals’ extinction.

Besides this, there might be a lot of other causes of animals’ disappearance. For instance, it could be wearter conditions, the influence of other beings and others. Unless, these causes are examinated it could be a wrong decision to blame people of animals’ extinction.

In conclusion, these unstated assumtions do not well proved. To strenghten the argument the author has to provide information about mammal bones instead fish bones and, moreover, additional evedence about using tools. Besides, the author must also examinate other factors that could have been the causes of extinction. Unless, these assumptions are addressed the argument will fall apart and it might be a mistake to conclude that people were the cause of the extinction of animals.