“ In the six mont hs that I have been watching the employees, their product ivity

has increased by over 12 percent . Therefore, my recommendaton is that the

employees either be watched by, or think that they are watched by, an outside

evaluat or at all times from this point on.”

The argument makes a number of unbubstaniated assumptions regarding the conclusion that the productivity of employees incresed bacause of they were watched. In general, careful examination of this supporting evidence releals that it lends little credible support to these applicants’ claims. There remains some questions that need answering before make any conclusions.

The argument assumes that the productivity of employees incresed bacause of they were wached. However, there is no other informationt about their work and their conditions. It could have been that the numbers of empoyeers was increased and, as a result, the productivity in the whole increased too. Moreover, it might have happened that the salary was increased and, consequently, the empoyeers became to work harder. Unless the author provide this information this assumption can not be reliable.

Besides this, the author claimes that the productivity has increased, however there is no information how the authoir evalueted their productivity. For instance, these workers could been accountants. It is not clear how to caunt their productivity. Without this information in could be a mistake to conclude that cause of the increse of productivity was the empoyeers were watched.

In conclusion, the conclusion about the cause of increase of productivity is not well supported. To strengthen it the author has to provide evedence about other factors that could have been influence the increase. Besides, the author muast also provide the method of evaluation of the increse. Unless this assumptions are addressed the argument fall apart and it might be a mistake to conclude that the productivity of employees incresed bacause of they were watched.