"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument makes a number of unsubstantiated assumptions regarding the benefit of Easy Read course. In general, careful examination of the supporting evidence revials that it lend little crdibly to support applicant’s claim. There remain some questions that need answering before ane steps can be taken.

The argument claims that after Easy Read course it will possible to read 500-page report in two hours. However, it is not clear how much information the employee will understand. For example, it might have been that the worker will understand nothing because of very fast reading. Unless, the author provides any information about how much information the worker will understand it could have been a mistake to buy this course for employeers.

Another unstated assumption is that because of the reding course the empoyee became the president of the company. Nevertheless, it is not clear other factors of this result. It could have been that the cause of this success became family relationship or the copmany is too small and the previous president lieve the company and as a result it becames possible to achieve this goalwithin year. Consequently, without other information about this case it might have been a mistake to buy this course.

In conclusion, the recommendation to buy Easy Read course is not well supported. To strenghten it the author has to provide additional information about the employee’s success and about the quality of this fast reading. Unless, this assumtion are addressed the argument will fall apart and it could have been a wrong decision to take Easy Read course.