Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course.

The argument asserts that the employees should attend the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course in order to improve their reading skills and provide some reasons that this would be beneficial to company. While this seems convincing on the first glance, there are several significant underlying flaws that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

First, the author unfairly assumes that if the employees be able to read faster, they can absorb more information in a single workday while no evidence is offered in order to substantiate the causality. Naturally, when you read a piece of paper a little more faster, you will get information less because fast reading will reduce our concentration on the topic.

Second, the argument wrongly assumes that if employees read a 500-page report in two hours, it would be beneficial to the company, while we are not informed whether the employees need to read such big reports every day or they may sometimes receive that report. We are not informed whether it is economical to pay $500 per employee for per employee because most of them do not need to read any piece of report based on their duties, on the other hand, we do not know how many employees this company has, consider this company has 2000 employ it mean the company has to pay $1,000,000 which is not economical.

In addition, the author asserts that if the employees are interested in attending such course. If not, they will not learn this skill. On the other hand, we are not informed that during the time, employees are learning something new, the company will pay for it and consider that as work hours. If not, a few individuals will be enthusiastic in order to attend this course. The company should hold a survey in order to ask employees if they are interested or not.

In sum, this argument lacks concrete evidence to substantiate that attending the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course will necessarily be beneficial to the company. If the author were to provide more evidence regarding the relationship between fast reading and absorbing information, the number of reports which employees must read in a single workday his argument would be more convincing. The company should hold the survey to get to know if the employee want to learn this skill.