Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially.

The argument states that the Grove College should maintain its old tradition regarding admitting only female applicants and provide some reasons for holding this opinion. While this seems convincing on the first glance, there are significant underlying flaws regarding this claim that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

First, the quality of statistical results could be problematic in two respects, we are not informed whether the Grove College may gain benefit from the results so this results might be distorted and unreliable. Second, we are not informed if the survey was confidential. If not, the students might provide false information that they believed that the questioners might approve of. In either case, the survey results is unreliable.

Second, the argument unfairly relies upon the assumption that for keeping the college financial supports we should keep this tradition but no evidence is offered to prove the causality. A majority of people supporting colleges never care about the school where or how will spend their money. They just want to help schools to develop whether this admits female students or both genders. If the author wants to consider such causality, must provide clear evidence to substantiate this assumption.

In addition, we are not informed regarding programs teaching in the Grove College. Some programs such as Electrical Engineering is more popular among male applicants, on the other hand, field of study such as Art is more popular among female applicants. If the college has just some specific programs that can attract male applicants, it would be better for the college to admit male students because they can succeed and enhance the college prestige.

In sum, this arguments has some clear logical fallacies and lacks concrete evidence to substantiate author’s claim. If the author were to prove more evidence regarding survey, main causality of financial support and programs teaching in the college his or her argument was more convincing.