For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget.

The argument states that since private contributions to the symphony increased the funding for the symphony should be removed and provide some reasons for holding this claim. While this seem convincing on first glance, there are significant underlying flaws and unstated assumption that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

The author unfairly assumes that during this period that the number of attendances has been increased other possible reasons affecting that will remain unchanged. For instance, are there any famous artist play music during this period? Or the current symphony programs will be the same, changing schedule may reduce attendance.

The argument relies upon assumption private contributions reflect number of attendances. There are many people denote to symphony but they never attend, it is not realistic that private contributions directly depends on attendance.

The argument relies upon assumption that increasing ticket price can help symphony financial while no evidence is offered to substantiate the causality. For example, maybe the main reason that more individuals are interested in attending the symphony is its low price and this increase might be detrimental rather than beneficial.

The argument asserts that the funding should be eliminated while we are not informed what percent of symphony’s cost has been granted by government. The budget dedicated to symphony change year by year therefore when we want to estimate symphony financial need, this important point must be considered. Knowing that these contribution will cover all costs.

In sum, this argument has main logical fallacies and the author’s conclusion is not supported by good reasons, if the author were to provide concrete evidence regarding real reason of increase in attendance, what percent of people contributions supported symphony costs and differences between current and future price of the ticket, his argument was more convincing