Argument Essay:-"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series d

The memo from the budget planner states that the Grandview symphony should not be funded as they are self supporting seems to be tenable at first glance but the conclusion is based on assumptions that are not evident.

Firstly the author claims the funding to the symphony from private organisations increased by 200 percent. However, it may fail to consider whether the private organisations will fund the symphony till the end. They may find some other reliable source for funding and may divert their funds to other programs. Therefore, the author fails to provide evidence on if the private companies would provide funds to the symphony as they have not signed on any agreement.

Secondly, the author reported that attendance to the symphony’s concerts doubled. However, if the symphony always organised concert on a similar kind of music like jazz music, the audience might not be interested to attend the concert. Additionally, people’s interest tend to change from time to time. So, the author cannot expect the same trend to continue in the forthcoming years and as a result, the symphony may lose funds.

Finally, the author states that symphony has announced an increase in ticket prices. This also leads to an adverse affect on their popularity. If in the same area, another organisation starts a concert with less ticket prices, it gives a tough competition to the symphony. If the new concerts organise concerts as per majority of the people’s interests, they would definitely chose them. As a result, the symphony has to reduce the ticket prices, which eventually gives rise to an increase in need of funds.

To conclude, the author need to provide proper evidences to the given assumptions such as whether the symphony has enough money to support itself if there is no funding made available to them and also increasing the ticket prices will affect the customers or not.