The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon."For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The crux of the argument was that funding for the Grandview Symphony should be canceled because the symphony is self-supporting now as they increase their ticket prices and attendance was doubled. The argument based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

Primarily, the author claimed that attendance and ticket pricing is both increased compared to the previous year. Even though the author does not provide the actual amount of money or crowd increased in recent concerts. It would have been possible that increment of price was not surfeit enough to become self-sufficient and need more private funding. Without the actual number, it would be unfeasible to cancel the funding.

The author also claimed that private funding increases by 200 percent. It might be possible that the number of contributors decreased comparing to the previous year. So, canceling from next year budget would be deletrious to the symphony. Also, the author does not provide how many years the funding increased to 200 percent. It would have been possible that in the present day the funding increased to 200 percent comparing to 12 years ago, so the increment would not have been enough.

The author never claimed that the private funding introduced because of the symphony had not enough money or never self-supporting. The funding provided may be because of marketing. So, now because of the unwarranted assumption, canceling the funding would be impractical.

The following argument was flawed and based on unwarranted reasons. The author also failed to provide any convincing data and sound reasoning to bolster his argument.