Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Arts are the expression of imagination and our emotion, we express our joy to morose through some kind of arts. Some arts are becoming a definition of an era. Nations prosperity sometimes define by creations of arts. The funding of art from the government is trifle but an important source, the copious investment comes from philanthropic and private investment. The statement does not state the nation should cancel the investment but suspend the investment during the emergency situation.

First of all, a nation job is to coddle its' people and the prosperity of the economy of a nation. In the situation of the great depression, a government job is to provide adequate food and job to the denizens. People, where do not have the money to eat and do not have works, going to museum and art, is a luxury. The money should be spent on the citizen's education, shelter, and food. The prosperity of art and prosperity of a nation is proportional to each other. For example, we can not see a war zone country prosper in arts or people demanding for a museum, the imagination does not work in hunger. The art usually prospers where the economy of a country is steady and people having or fulfilling their basic needs.

On the other hand, many people argue that art is a form of a job and plenty of people actually get money from their art. There are myriad of examples where art creates a revolution or many arts mirror the reality of society. But in the situation where people are live in hunger and can not fulfill their basic need, a government should support the citizens and protect their basic rights. Because art is not a basic right of a human, besides art can prosper with other alter investment.

At the end of the epilogue of the topic I would say the art could be significant work and a statement of expression, suspending them might be sound harsh and unfeasible, but in order to provide the basic needs to the citizens during emergency situation suspension of funds to the art is a cogent step.