Essay topics: The first step to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar.

Self-knowledge comes with self-realization or discovering oneself. The knowledge itself helps us to critical thinking and self-realization cannot be achieved until we question everything, critical to every belief. In order to introspect ourselves, we have to reject our inner belief and decoded every familial thinking. The more intense discovering self-knowledge, more we critically examine the antiquated beliefs.

First of all, familial beliefs hinder new discoveries and people get comfortable in their position. and someone quoted that ignorance is bliss. In order to reject the familial beliefs, we have to be self-sufficient and without proper knowledge or understanding, we can not refute the old beliefs. Persons have to learn to swim if he decided to swim opposite the stream. There are many families or beliefs which are amalgamated with our society. Without proper question and knowledge, we can not be an iconoclast. Every social reformer was used to break usual beliefs, from Galileo to Mark Zuckerberg, they reject familial beliefs for self-realization. Galileo reform the thinking towards the solar system and Mark Zuckerberg revolutionized the social platform. Another point is we have to go beyond the comfort zone of ours and rejects the familial and we might realize a bigger outer society. For example, if someone living in a metropolitan city, if he stops being stereotyped he can realize a diverse culture and adopted to another society.

Another aspect is, people can argue that we do not need to always reject our familial beliefs. We can learn from our old beliefs and built our new discoveries over them, even old beliefs which might be a failure might guide us. But without being self-sufficient and critical thinking we cannot achieve true self-knowledge.

At the epilogue of this topic, I would say that we need to rejects and question familial beliefs for self-knowledge and dives into ourselves. Every day we different from the past, we know the past life and question the present and work towards to build future