TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Choosing a job is not an easy task and one must choose a job, which give him self-satisfaction and which he likes to do. It is true that whichever job we choose our parents always have influenced us to choose a field. I personally think children should follow the footsteps of their parents and choose the same job as their parents have done. There are certain advantages and I prove my stance by giving various points and sharing my experience.

First of all, there is an influence from our parents in our lives and we sometimes do subconsciously what our parents have done. For example, a child chooses science in his high-school because his parents are teacher or doctor. Besides that, if a child chooses the same field as his parents, parents might help him during his study because they know the subjects. Thus, he can get better guidance. For example, if a doctor’s children choose to engineer his parents might not help him that much in his field of study. Where an engineer parents his child if he chooses the same field.

Secondly, if a child chooses the similar job like his parents, they can also help him in his job problems. For example, if a child chooses to become a doctor and his parents were engineers, they do not understand his specific problem in the job and solving a problem, is in all over in the sea.

In my personal experience, I choose the same profession as my father; choose to be a civil engineer. There is the myriad help that I am getting from my father. First, he helped me during my school and taught me mathematics and other science subjects. Then he helped me on my field subjects and also taught me how to apply those theories in the practical field. As he working as a site engineer I always visit the site with him and learned different aspects of the jobs. While I had the problem with my job, I discuss with him and I get the perfect solution because he has the experience already. Now, if I choose another profession, might not get the help that much.