TPO 26: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Work has a great influences on our lives. It has a major impact on our overall well-being because it affect our live directly. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the statement that it is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents. This is due to the fact that they may have different interests and decrease the pressure over them.

To begin with, people should have the freedom to choose their major because every person has different interests than the others even parents. In fact, people can be more creative if they select their major because they can work around something they like. For example, if parents of a teenager boy force him to study science in order to become a doctor as them, he might fail because he thinks that it is boring. Furthermore, parents have to encourage their children to discover what they really like and what pleasure them the most because by knowing these things, they can pick the major that suits them the most. Thus, it is better for children to choose their own path because they will spend most of their time in the future doing this thing.

Another reason why I think this is the ultimate approach is children can feel more pressure if they choose to work as their parents. Indeed, people may compare between the father and his son, which can be stressful. For instance, when a well-known painter make his daughter, who does not have as much artistic talent as him, to paint people may hurt her by saying that she is not good as her father and she should stop what she is doing. Moreover, this kind of stress can ruin relationships among family members because children can blame their parents for their failure. Hence, children have to choose jobs that make them happy no matter what their parents work.

For the aforementioned reasons, I genuinely disagree that children can benefit more if they have jobs similar to their parents. Hopefully, more parents will give the freedom to their children to choose their major and jobs in the future.