GRE sample issue pool essay topic 145

We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I mostly agree with this given claim that struggling with our shortcomings is when we learn the most important lessons in life rather while enjoying success. And as they say the Journey is more important than the destination; success is the final destination and one's struggle is what makes the journey a learning experience.

When we struggle with our shortcomings ,we tend to find new ways to overcome them. We find new methods to ameliorate them. This is the time when we learn the most important lessons in our life. Thomas Edison once said ‘I didn’t fail, I just found 10,000 ways that won’t work!’.He invented the light bulb after failing numerous times, but in those numerous failures, he learned something new every single time. The culmination of these small learnings is what translates into success at the end.

Moreover, it is during times of struggle that heroes emerge. Heroes like Mahatma Gandhi and Bhagat Singh fought in the struggle of freedom for the Indians. They were just regular Indian denizens before the British Rule. It was the struggling time that woke up the leader in them that led India to freedom. Both of them in their own ways evoked the emotion of patriotism amongst the common people of India. Such lessons of patriotism, peace, and unity cannot be learnt in unchallenging times of success. Had it been not for them,india would have had to fight a longer battle for its freedom.

However, Success is the sweet nectar at the end of the struggle.It is like the light at the end of the journey. Success helps us to look back and feel accomplished of the journey we took. Hence It is reasonable to state that at the end of the day if we succeed, it will be unlike anything other, but if we fail, there are still be plenty of vital lessons to learn before the door of success opens.