There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.Discuss both sides.

In recent times, the rate of serious crimes has increased exorbitantly. When it comes to deciding an appropriate course of action, there seem to be two schools of thought. Some think that the best way to curb serious crimes is the death penalty whereas some think that alternative measures need to be considered.

Many people believe that awarding the death penalty to a person for a heinous crime is the best way to teach them a lesson. As gruesome as it sounds, such criminal offenders need to face the consequences of their wrongdoings. Punishing them in such a way would put a complete stop to their criminal mentality, and at the same time send a clear threat to the masses with a similar mentality. Moreover, this ensures rightful justice to the victim of the crime and/or their family.

On the other hand, some people think that there is another course of action to control the rise of critical crimes. Alternative measures like a life sentence and confinement in single cells could also prove useful. A life sentence ensures that the offender stays locked up for the rest of their life, wherein they will be kept under the watchful eyes of the authorities. Moreover, if the offender is dangerous to other prisoners they can be confined to a single small cell, in complete isolation.

In conclusion, committing a serious crime can result either in a death sentence or other measures like a life sentence or isolation depending upon the severity of the crime. The punishment should be awarded only after a complete investigation to ensure that justice is served.