There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The number of violent crimes committed is seemingly increasing these days. Although some maintain that using capital punishment is the key to combat this issue, I support those who believe that other alternatives must be considered.

On the one hand, there are some arguments why proponents believe that the death penalty is the solution to deter felony. In the first place, it strikes fear into the hearts of people. When individuals see a criminal being executed via electrocution, read about it on newspapers and watch programs about this happening on the internet or TV, they tend to think twice before committing a violent crime. In addition to this, this suggestion works to deal with re-offending criminals too, supporters think. There are recidivists who committed serious crimes, such as murder, rape and others, repeatedly. If capital punishment were introduced, it would perhaps be possible to save innocent people’s lives or prevent people falling victims.

However, I agree with the opponents of capital punishment for a number of reasons. Firstly, it is morally unacceptable to take a life for a life. There are obvious instances when offenders had been wrongly convicted of murder and sentenced to death, but after several years, it was proven that they were innocent and the incident was an unfortunate accident. Besides being morally wrong, it brings about psychological traumas to family members of those who are sentenced to death, which will be followed by years of suffering and stress. Perhaps, an effective remedy to a growing number of serious crimes could be lifelong sentencing accompanied by physical punishment in jails. After all, who are we to judge and kill a person for an offence?

In conclusion, although capital punishment may seem applicable in certain cases, I am of the opinion that it is wrong to kill criminals and other measures should be considered to remedy the increase in crime.