The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Pre-concieved notions about any situation always cause bias in assessing the problem.I partially agree that it is important to unlearn what we already know to learn new things.This keeps our mind open to new perspectives. Although,I would concede that rejecting familiar knowledge altogether can prove fallacious,the following paragraphs will shed a light on both the advantages and disadvantages of this position.

On the one hand, rejecting what we already know helps us to understand the other perspectives.When we start to learn oursleves we need to start with a fresh slate.It may happen so that the kowledge we have is biased and can hamper our journey of learning.Once this journey is completed ,then we can make a informed descision whether to pick a side or accept the whole theory.For instance,if a interviewer knows the candidate on a beforehand,their prior knowledge of the candidate may hamper the authenticity of the interview.The interviewer may make a biased descision which is completely unfair.Hence ,they need to keep their mind clear of any prior information about the interviwee and given them a fair chance.

On the flip side,this familiar knowledge can prove useful in making predictive decisions in medical as well as business feild. For a doctor to make a diagnosis,or for that matter prognosis prior knowledge of the patients history is crucial.They have to know the complete picture before administering any medical care. Similarly in the feild of business, previous information about companies work culture, and financial decisions can help predict future growth of the firm and help take better steps to improve the same.

Hence,I partially agree with the given prompt while presenting both the pros and cons of rejection of known knowledge.It is completely situational and a person must decide it according to the situtation at hand