Museums should display art of their own country, or they should display art from all over the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (May 2021) Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Museums hold a great importance in revealing history of the world. There are two schools of thoughts when it comes to decide whether national or international art should be presented there.I agree with the opinion that we should have a global approach when it comes to the content of the museums.

A museum is where knowledge is being imparted with the help of visuals. Numerous artifacts are kept on display. When we include art pieces of artists from all over the world it attracts a huge number of art enthusiasts. They get to see and indulge in experiences that they normally wouldn’t get otherwise in case of displaying only local or national art, the reason being that these artifacts from all over the world help the citizens to understand varied art forms apart from ones in their own country. These international artworks would also help in acquainting people with different cultures of the world and also compare it to their artworks, all at in the same place. Moreover, another reason is that this will benefit by increasing the footfall of tourists and citizens alike to the museum and get more funds for improvisations in the future.

On the other hand, if the museum is restricted only to the arts of their own country it will be difficult for it to sustain. Particularly because the citizens living there will already be aware of the art forms in their country. Moreover, these will interest them for very less time too. This will limit the footfall only to the tourists which in turn would limit the income made by the visitors.

Hence , some people would still prefer having museums display the national treasure as opposed to displaying artifacts from all over the world to attract is favored by me.