Task 2: (Both Academic & General training) Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? (May 2021) Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

After graduating from school students either tend to pursue education or opt to explore places and gain experience by working. Although each student’s situation and liking is the deciding factor here there are advantages and disadvantages of both the paths taken. This essay ponders upon both the pros as well as cons of both the decisions.

For a student, the school or the university is the turning point of their future. They put immense effort into their coursework. After all these efforts it is obvious that a student may feel the need to take a break and travel before working. This break can prove useful for refreshing the student after tedious years of study, this will also give them time to introspect and maybe decide how they want to shape their career. On the other hand, if the student is not very clear about their goals, they could be wasting precious time of their life travelling around. They may require to brush up their skills all over again. Moreover, their window of deciding to pursue further studies is also lost.

Whereas, a student who immediately pursues studies does so to propel their career and improve the quality of the jobs they get. Once out of the university the person in still in the mindset of a student. This proves to be a boon, as the ability of studying and learning is still intact, unlike the people who decide late in life to take this path after working. Most of the students who do post-graduation end up in higher paying jobs than their peers who didn’t. But a major shortcoming of this decision is that the person enters the professional world quite late than their already working peers. They also have the burden of student loans.

Hence, the decision to travel and work or to study further is very subjective. It all depends on the students calibre and financial situation and I strongly recommend the student takes help of advisors, peers and weigh all the disadvantages and advantages before coming to a conclusion