An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Being a doctor is a highly respected profession.A renowned doctor is preceded by their reputation over the years.This reputation in built by their success rate in their feield.Considering this I would almost extend my support to the statement that a patient could have access to the doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted pateients.But I would concede by saying that every patient is different and their treatments are purely circumstantial.Hence there are some drawbacks to this belief too,that will be discussed at the end.

A patient should be able to access the doctor's previous statistics to gain confidence in them.Afterall the patient is trusting them with their life.A doctor's record of treating similarly affected patients reinforces their skill and talent to heal the similar kind of patient.Consider a person with a weak heart and their case is higly complicated.They have a myriad doctors list to consider for the best treatment they can afford.What will be the deciding factor here?I t will be the doctor's success rate doing such surgeries on the weak hearts previously.This would give the ailing patient and their family a ray of hope in thei trying times.

While Keeping the doctor's records accesible(with right privacy measures taken)to an ailing patient may assuage them,at the same time it holds the doctor too accountable to maintain their utmost level of care towards the patient.They too feel a sense of greater responsibility towards their patient and their own career ot the organization they are linked with.Say a doctor claims to treat a certain condition,but without any background of their previous work no one will trust them.Even the hospitals wont hire them.The most talented of the lot goes under rigorous training for years to become the best in their feild.The interns and the residents are continously observed and monitored by their attendings till they master their skills.Hence it is of utmost importance that the doctors track record speaks for themselves.

However,if the parient gets an unrestricted access to the previous patient's this will be the invasion of their privacy.It will also make the patient compare themselves with other patients with similar conditions.The patient may question the doctors descisions,and come with preconcieved notions.As I said before a treatment course is purely subjective and circumstantial,exposing the patients with extra information other than the doctors record will be highly fallacious.