The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with an honest assessment.

We know that music is a piece of art.It can be subjective as well as common to all. Music is one of the form of art that is eternal. It is there to stay for a long time.It lives on ,even after the artist has passed away.However, I mostly disagree with the claim that an accurate assessment of a famous musician can only be assessed posthumously. If a musician is popular during their lifetime then it is safe to understand that their music has struck a chord with the listeners and it is here to stay.

A musician's popularity is the result of the acceptance of their art.If people relate to their music then it automatically disseminates amongst the masses.Even though music can be subjective,The fact that the musician is popular conveys that it resonates with the listeners. Once this happens that piece of music is here to stay for eternity.It doesn't need several decades after the musician has died to asses its poularity. Freddie Mercury is a great example to refute this claim.During the peak of his career, he amassed great love and popularity from his fans.He was at the zenith of his career and eternalized the songs like Bohemian Rhapsody. In that era he did have a thriving fan following.His songs didn't need decades to reach the listeners and become popular.

A musician's popularity can truly be assessed when they continuously produce quality work. Releasing a single music piece wont help them to maintain the longevity of their popularity. Popularity can be ephemeral. Hence only consistency along with novelty will help them be in the listener's good books.If the quality of their music is not good then their career might not sustain in the present.And surely not for the foreseeable future.Hence the claim that the artist only can be judged generations after their death is a bold one. Imagine in today's world of 30 seconds of fame via Instagram Reels and TikTok,A musicians work gains popularity. Their music is catchy and is used abundant times in such videos. But this popularity/fame is short-lived.Tomorrow a new song will catch the ears of listeners and a new trend will start with it.The previous song that gained popularity will fall into abyss.

However, it is true that some musicians truly live on through generations via their music. Their music is relevant and really priceless to get lost through the decades. This was exemplified by The Late Lata Mangeshkar. Her melodious voice has struck a chord for generations and will continue to do so.