The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo mentioned above concludes that the trend of winters being cold in the northeastern United states will result into increased demand for heating oil in the coming 5 years.This is backed by their argument that many new houses are being built in that area and it is being implied that they will use oil for heating.But this argument need to be thoroughly analysed before we accept it.For this reason, we need some evidence.

Firstly it is said that “traditionally” oil was the heating agent used.But over the years electrical appliances have taken that place (electric stove,heater,water heaters,microwave).Moreover it is also mentioned that oil was a major fuel used,implying there were other substitutes for this fuel.It could be kerosene,petrol.It is a unwarranted assumption that Oil is the sole fuel available in that region.This assumption can weaken the argument.

Secondly now that the new homes are being built they will be built with the latest heating /temperature control systems available in the market.Also even though 90 days out of 365 days will be winter it wouldn’t lead to that drastic increase in the oil consumption of that area.Moreover it is predicted that weather pattern will continue the same pattern, but weather is subject to circumstantial change.So it may happen that this may mean that extreme winters occur only for 2 more years.So making such a far-fetched assumption about the oil usage will be overly simplistic of us

From the above examples we that the argument,as it stands now is flawed and doesn’t hold water.If more evidence about alternative fuels used in the region and the credibility of the forecast is provided then this argument can be evaluated more effectively.