Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

The argument states that the restaurants should replace butter by margarine in order to increase profitability and provide some reasons to hold this claim. While this seems convincing on first glance there are several significant underlying flaws that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

First, the author unfairly assumes that since 98 out of 1oo people have had positive opinion regarding margarine, it reflects that a large majority of people have the same point of view. This result is problematic in two aspects. We are not informed who conducted the survey, if the restaurant owners have instituted this poll, the results may distorted. In addition, we are not informed whether the survey was confidential. If not, the customers may provide false information that they believed that the questioners approve of. In either case, the poll is unreliable and problematic.

Second, the author wrongly assumes that since some customers did not complain when they are given margarine so they like to consume this like butter while no evidence is offered to explain this causality. Some customers are shy and they do not complain for bad taste or using another material for preparing food, others may do not have enough time to express their complaints. Therefore, it is not true to concluded that the customers like margarine as much as they like butter because they did not complain.

In addition, the argument asserts that for gaining more benefits the restaurants in the southeast and northeast should do the same. The people interest and margarine accessibility are different region by region and people by people. In some region, restaurant can obtain a certain material easily while this is rare in other area. Consequently, the expense of buying butter are not the same therefore we cannot use this strategy for all areas even if it worked for a certain region.

The author also fails under another logical fallacy, he thinks that the expense of purchasing margarine will remain unchained. This will become more expensive rather than butter. Since increasing demands lead to an increase in price.

In sum, this argument has clear logical flaws. If the author were to provide more evidence regarding the survey, main reason of not complaining, and accessibility of margarine in different areas, his argument was more convincing.