Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

The argument states that harsh weather will increase demands for fuel and investment in related industries must be considered. However, it seems convincing on first glance that it would be a good idea but there are some underlying flaws and unstated assumptions that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

The argument relies upon what may account to a false analogy between increasing number of built houses and increasing demand for oils. For this to work, the author must consider that these new houses are completely similar to present houses and people need equal oil for heating themselves. In this case, the new houses might be very advanced that they do not need any fuel for heating, people may use renewable energies such as wind turbine and solar cells for generating electricity, then, using electric heater for heating.

The author unfairly assumes that increasing developed houses lead to an increase in fuel needs. However, no evidence is offered to substantiate the causality. For instance, nowadays there are smart homes. These advanced houses do not need to get energy from local power plants. They not only can provide their energy needs but also can sell electricity to the grid network. It means that these new houses can generate electricity for neighbor houses and they can use electric heater instead of demanding for oil for heating purposes.

In sum, the argument did not provide concrete evidence for his claim. If the author were to provide evidence regarding new houses and related technology used in them and the accuracy of the predication his argument was more convincing.