Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguin

The president and administrative staff of Grove College claims that the century-old tradition of all-female students in the program of the college should not be ended as this will continue mainting the morale among students and will also be kept supported by college alumnae financially. He bases his reasons on the ground that there were survey conducted by the college that shows eighty percent of the students are not in favour of admitting male students into the program. The author's argument is likely to be a failure as there are several flaws in the argument of the author that can be seen by the below reasons.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that the survey conducted by the student is a key role in making the conclusion of keeping only all-female students and neglecting male members in admitting to the college. The author is neglecting the majority of faculty members decision that voted in favor of admitting the male students into the college programs made in the recent faculty meeting. The author is giving more value to the students survey than the experienced faculty members which cannot be accepeted easily. These might be the faculty staff that would have worked in other college where coeducation existed and college was performing better as compared to only all-female students. This shows the narrow-mindness of author's argument and deriving conclusion on incomplete evidence.

Secondly, the author claims that the survey he conducted has responded with eighty percent of the students in favour of all-female eduation who participated in the survey. There might be the case that only few numbere of students has participated in the survey that want only female students as their collagues and of these puny number of students eighty percent of students where in favour of the decision. This is to say that the author fails to clarify the number of students participating in the survey that indicates the data that cannot be easily accepted. Also, the author's conclusion states that by maintaining only all-female education they can convince alumnae to keep supporting college financially which seems to be an arcane reason.

Though there are several issues with the author's argument at present, with research and clarification, he can improve his argument significantly. For example, the author should have taken into consideration the decision of both faculty and students together with concrete reasoning and then come to conclusion. Should have provided the reason why all-female education only can help the college financially etc.

In a sum, as we can see from above mentioned reasons and examples, we can conclude that the aurthor's argument is prone to accute reasoning and hence open to debate.