The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that since Tria Island is facing a lot of problems regarding the sand Erosion at the shores. To resolve the issue, author argues that the people should be charged for using beaches. Stated in this way, the author failed to consider several key factor on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To justify the argument, the author reasons that charging of tourists provides enough money to the government for replenishing the sand at sea shores. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence provides little creditable support to author's view. Hence, author's argument is considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author failed to mention the region or area which has undergone the erosion. If the area under sand erosion is small, then it would be inadequate to charge people for using the beaches. Additionally, funds can be arranged from various other ways like it can be taken from the government of Tria Island, or it could be taken by enhancing other amounts for tourists like food tax or travel tax etc. so that tourists can be indirectly charged the amount instead of direct money for using beaches. This way tourists can enjoy travelling in Tria island irrespective of any trouble and grumpy mood. Hence, if the author had mentioned information regarding the region which had undergone sand erosion, then the proper estimation of money can be done adequately for overcoming the problem.

Furthermore, the number of buildings and their height should be necessary to know from the author in order to conclude whether they needs to be prevented from damage or it should be sealed by the government for living. If there are low number of buildings and which are far away from the city, then unncessary charging the tourists should be avoided in order to enhance the tourism. Additionally, the author had compared Tria Island to the nearby Batia Island and suggest that since replenishing was done successfully in Batia Island to protect the neaby buildings. However, both the island is totally different from each other in terms of their geographical area and various other aspects and hence can't be compared. Moreover, sand erosion is a natural disaster which could be reduced but cannot be overcome. Thus, if some perticular area of the island had undergone the erosion, then that area should be banned by the government for tourists. Therefore, some information like number of nearby buildings and their height should be known in order to better evaluate the argument.

Finally, to better assess the argument, some questions needs to be answered from the author like what is the possiblity that the sand erosion could save nearby buildings from severe storms? Or Is there some way to prevent the beaches from sand erosion like creating sand walls at the boundary of the beaches? Will the safety be assured after creating sand walls? If the author has considered all the above scenarios, the argument could become more cogent.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author needs to provide some information, perhaps by the way of reliable survey of the island in terms of sand erosion. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the author think that the charging of tourists provides sufficient funds to assure the safety and will further enhance the tourism.