The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria."Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that raising money for replenishing the sand, will result in reducing the buildings' risk, along the shore, of additional damage from severe storms, rendering its conclusion that, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification as to how replenishing the sand will help to protect buildings along the shores of Tria, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia. The writer provides no information justifying the relation between the island of Bhatia and Tria's shore. Nothing is known about the previous condition of Batia island, additionally, it's primary purpose was to protect the building nearby. On the contrary, the primary purpose, as mentioned, for Tria shore is to stop soil erosion of beach sand, which a serious threat to the island and not to save buildings from severe storms. Had the argument provide information regarding the correlation between both the places, Batia and Tria. Even then, the argument would have to further prove that, as to how replenishing the sand that helped protecting buildings in Batia, would impact with the same intensity in the case of Tria island.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. The assumption made by the writer that charging people for using the beaches will annoy a few tourists in the short term, but it will help raise money for replenishing the sand, leaves a lot of space for doubt. It is possible that because of the assumed annoyance, visitors develop a feeling an aversion towards the island and therefore, improving Tria's tourist industry, which is the main purpose, remains worthless.

Finally, the argument claims without a warrant that replenishing the beach sand will help protect buildings along the shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. Firstly, it is not mentioned how buildings were damaged earlier. Secondly, it is not necessary that after having a budget and replenishing the beach sand along the shore, it will help in protecting the buildings against storms, a natural calamity that has capricious results. This plan needs serious consideration of many other factors which would, perhaps, be more damaging to the buildings, before executing it. The argument is still lacking because it doesn't provide the information regarding tourists, visiting the island, frequently or occasionally, in what numbers and percentage and how will all of these if implemented successfully, help in improving the tourism industry.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of a lack of information regarding the Tria island and its tourists. Also, it is based on several unwarranted assumptions. Then the argument ends with an entirely optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations, that are likely to be incorrect.