Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement contends that the Educators' primary purpose is to teach their students, the ideas, trends, and concepts and only then teach facts that relate to those concepts. My view on the same is highly subjective. I agree with this to an extent as some students are fascinated by the facts so much that they tend to neglect the main idea and concepts on which the facts are based on. however, some trends are such that they are better understood by facts first, than the concept itself.

Firstly, taking primary education as a subject, small children tend to get influenced easily, as compared to the elder ones. To those little ones, giving the main idea and teaching concepts first, seems plausible. For example, instructing them on a topic related to math, say percentages and applications. If the faculty starts with the statement that if you ate half a pie, how much of the pie is still left? Or something like if you divide a circle in 4 equal parts, what percentage will be a quarter circle to the whole? Such questions will encourage students to go deep into a topic but will finally end up losing hope when the actual idea flows into the picture. And, thus, will end up gaining knowledge superficially. Conversely, had the educator asked the same questions after teaching the necessary concept theoretically and then surprisingly, in the end, made them aware that they are used in real-life factual data. It would have made them happy learning something, they thought was boring, at first look.

Additionally, the same can be applied while teaching some boring chemistry equations or physics laws to students. Or say, some computer programming language which seems a hectic thing to even look at, for some. And, then teach the real-life applications like building an Android app using the same code or develop personal virtual assistance on your laptop.

On the other end, in business, economics, and political science, it is of the primary importance of making students understand the facts and where they are applied in life, then merely just start with didactic bookish concepts. Even, in major fields of arts, designing, music and so on, starting up with the facts and to be precise, a pragmatic approach would be more beneficial to students, than just mere raw concepts.

To sum up, whether or not educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts is a very subjective discussion. In the final analysis, it primarily depends on the area of thought to be taught and vacillates from teaching concepts and main ideas first to making the students learn about the facts, on which they are based, in the first place.