The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The author argues that the autonomy of a country is fully dependent on its borders irrespective of anything else. Stated in this way, the author failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which a countrys autonomy can be evaluated. To justify the argument, the author reasons that weak border can make illegal immigrants to enter to the territory and would endanger the identity and economy of a country. However careful scrutiny of the argument provides little creditable support to authors argument. Hence, authors argument can be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author failed to mention any information which could lead to the conclusion that strength of week border could cause endanger to the identity of a country. For instance, the powerful countries like United States and Canada has a liniency in their border that means they are agreed to cross their borders irrespective of any high checking at their borders. Thus, a country's autonomy and economy can only be maintained by the government not only the strength of the border.

Furthermore, now a days in every country, high security checks are there which won't allow illigal persons to enter in the country and if does then they have a very high charges which could cause them a great trouble. There are numerous devices and tools which could help for maintaining the security of a country, thanks to the technology. Therefore, In order to maintain the autonomy of a country, it could be secure throughout irrespective of only borders.

Finally, the information needs to be given by the author about various scenarios and examples which could trouble to a country due to illigal immigrants of other country. Although some disasters have happened previously like in Mumbai(India), terrorist have caused a great damage to the people there by blasting a bomb which has caused death to more than 100 people. But it could be noted that, in this case the bombers entered the country by plane and not from the borders. Hence, the security should be maintained throughout the country in order to preserve the autonomy and danger threat to people.

In conclusion, the author's claim is unpersuasiave as it stands. To bolster it further, the author needs to provide better concrete evidences, perhaps by the way of reliable survey about the instances where lack of security causes great damage to the country. Finally to better assess the argument, it is necessary to know that why the author only mentioned the border to be effective irrespective of full security of a country.