The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will reduce the number of people using the beaches and will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since the areas along the shore will be more attractive as a result, the beaches will be preserved and the area's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

The letter states that charging people for using beach on the island of Tria will replenish the sand as well as protecting buildings and improve area's tourist industry over the long term. Though this statement might be true since erosion of beach sand could be a serious threat to the island and tourist industry, many other pieces of evidences are required to substantiate the feasibility and consequence of such recommendation.

To begin with, the author fails to provide the information indicating whether the government is able to raise money for replenish the sand. If people are charge...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.