A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie

studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that a movie would fail without the necessary funding, the argument provided fails to make the case so as to why the movie would fail if the budget is not increased by ten percent. Hence, this argument is flawed becasuse of numerous reasons and unwarranted assumptions.

The argument begins by noting that inorder for the film 'Working Title' to succeed the budget need to be increased by 10%. Not only the argument fails to reason the addition of one tenth of the budget inorder for the movie to be a hit, it fails to provide the reason of how that increase in budget is sufficient. While the argument states that the producers hired an inexperienced director who is coming from the advertizement background, it fails to give the proper reason so as to why he would take more time for shooting a scene. The argument, albeit, notes that the advertizing industry is notoriously wasteful, it fails to provide any information of that particular director they hired. One can't attribute the skill of a person based on the general opion of advertizing industries.

Additionally, the argument states that they hired inexperienced assistant producers and directors for saving money.

They haven't mentioned how much they are paying for these fledgling directors and producers. This provides an open point for discussion on whether they are saving enough to compensate the actors and other unionized crew with the amount saved. This also brings us to note that the argument doesn't mention about the compensation provided for actors and other crew members.Had the argument provided the exact compensation details then it would be reasonable to ask for the extra budget provided those reasons are backed up by financial sheets.

Lastly, the argument concluding the movie is virtually assured to be a failure. The argument is equating virtuality to reality which is a flaw by iteself.

Because of the following unwarranted assumptions that the argument is constructed upon, the argument fails to provide a letter that would persuade the head of the movie to increase the budget by one tenth of the budget.