A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

The memo from the movie producer argues that for the movie to be a success, the funding needs to be increased by 10%. However, before reaching any sort of conclusion, there are many unstated assumptions that need to be answered.

First of all, the producer assumes that advertising business is notiriously wasteful in filming commercials. The memo overly generalizes, and attributes wasting time to every director in the advertising business. There is no statistical information provided or for that matter any evidence provided on how advertising business is wasteful. It might be the case that, experienced directors in the advertising industry know how to film without being prodigal.

Moreover, the producer attributes experience in commercials for a shampoo company with no experience at all in the movie industry by using the term "first-time director". A director be it in any industry has to have some inherent qualities like managing people, being imaginative and so on. These qualities or skills improve as time goes on. It might be the case that the "first-time director" has a good amount of experience and has gained the formerly stated skills. In that case, stating that the director will waste the time is fallacious. Instead, the director might use his intuitive skills to get a perfect shot within a few takes.

In addition, the argument states that, the extra money saved by hiring inexperienced producers and directors will undoubtedly cost them even more in the form of expenditure for actors and crew. It assumes that the inexperienced producers and directors will waste time by arranging things on the set. Information such as how much time the producers and directors may take to arrange things is not provided and the argument assumes that the overtime will be large enough to waste the money that they have saved. However, it might be the case that, the assistant directors and producers coordinate wello because of the directors' experience in shampoo commercials and come up with a perfect take in the first shot itself. There is no way to tell if the overtime is going to be big or not. If it is large enough, then the argument holds true. If not there is no need to raise more money.

In conclusion, further investigation is required into the formerly stated assumptions and a detailed analysis has to be made before coming to any sort of conclusion on raising the money.