The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter presents a case for encouraging the residents of Masontown to recycle enough through an advertising campaign. The argument is not cogent enough and is full of holes. There are many questions that need to be answered before coming to any sort of conclusion.

Citing the municipal garbage disposal fees as the main reason for encouraging the residents of Masontown, the author assumes that majority of the garbage contains products which can be recycled. That is, there is an appreciable amount of recyclable garbage for the town to reduce its municipal costs. No evidence or support is provided for this. So, what is the proportion of garbage that is recyclable in this town? To know this a survey has to be conducted to assess the reality of the situation in Masontown. It might be the case that there is not enough amount of recyclable garbage and the system or recommendation will fail to work if it is the case.

Additionally, the author assumes that the type of garbage present in Haynesworth is similar to Masontown for the recommendation to work. Is the garbage in Masontown similar to that of in Haynesworth? It sure can be the case that Masontown produces a different type of recyclable waste such as metals. The recommendation may not work here because even though the people of Masontown recycle their product, it will not have any effect on the municipal garbage disposal fees as the metals were never part of the garbage in first place. Maybe people were selling the metal to some shops that used to recycle them before and will continue to do the same afterwards too. This makes the recommendation unwarranted.

Building upon that, the author clearly misses a huge point or he simply assumes that there will be a system in place for recycling the waste. How will the residents recycle the waste products? Is there any system already in place for that? If not how much will it cost to build such a system? Recycling the waste is not a simple process, it requires a certain system that ensures that the garbage is collected on time and delivered to the factory or any similar place. To develop or maintain such a system there are many costs involved. Like paying the person who collects the recyclable waste from house to house. These must be taken into account before going for the advertising campaign.

Lastly, the author implies that the residents of Masontown will be motivated enough to recycle the garbage just by the advertising campaign. The same might have worked in Haynesworth but that does not mean it will work here. The reason it might have worked in Haynesworth might be due to the law that was imposed on its residents rather than their moral consciousness propelling the people to do so. So, does an advertising campaign suffice in motivating the people of the town to recycle?

In conclusion, after a thorough analysis, considering many of the possible factors, the argument presented by the author is not persuasive enough to warrant an advertising campaign.