“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.” Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The excerpt from the memo unequivocally states that establishing an automobile manufacturing plant in the underdeveloped Hillview landfill will ameliorate the prevailing unemployment problem in the city. There are many underlying assumptions, which needs to be analyzed before coming to any sort of conclusion.

Firstly, the memo asserts that there are thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software company abandoned its national facility last year. The extent of the unemployment rate at present is unknown. The Computech programming company may have hired people from Hillview, who have a very good or at least some kind of programming skill set. So, even though the company has left many people unemployed last year, it is highly unlikely that the people are still unemployed, given the fact the programming skill set is highly sought skill set and companies are on a hunt to recruit people who have some experience in the Information technology industry. It is also unlikely that these residents would have stayed unemployed for a year. They may have got some good offers elsewhere and moved out. So, are all residents still unemployed is the first question that needs to be answered.

Secondly, the memo assumes that people from a programming background would like to work in a manufacturing plant where most of the jobs are manual labour. Sure, there might be some jobs, which require a programming mindset. But, these jobs are not abundant. Most of the jobs include manual work and long excruciating working hours. The residents might not like this and wouldn't want to go work there. So, does a majority of the unemployed population would like to work in an automobile manufacturing plant is the second question. If not the argument does not hold true in the sense that it will not reduce the unemployment rate.

In addition, Autotech may not have enough incentives to build a manufacturing plant in first place. Most of the unemployed residents are skilled in programming. The Company might need people who have a good amount of knowledge in mechanical engineering or similar field. It might not be able to pay the programmers of Hillview very well as the pay scale of the programmers and workers in a plant is very high. So, the company may recruit most of the people from outside the city, which makes the argument fallacious. So, What kind of jobs are being offered? Will Autotech recruit most of the people from Hillview itself? are the questions that need to be answered.

In conclusion, a further investigation is required on the formerly stated questions to come to any sort of final conclusion.