As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree, explain your reasoning. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author unequivocally argues that, if we continue to rely on technology to solve problems, one's thinking ability will deteriorate. This argument is true to some extent. Relying on technology to help with very minor or simple problems will hinder one's ability to think. However,on the other hand, if technology is used right, it can help improve our cognitive capabilities.

Let's consider the usage of phones to help people organize their daily tasks, by setting reminders, storing information such as phone numbers. Before the advent of mobile phones, people used to remember phone numbers for a very long period. Now, people barely remember their father or mothers phone number, let alone remembering their friends numbers. Not only phones, people now-a-days use technology to help solve or avoid the social problem of meeting people, talking to them personally, making a great first impression. They do this with social media. Conversation with other people in person is essential for one's development in cognitive capability. Technology, used in this manner will thwart humans thinking capacity.

However, if technology is used in ways to inspire people to think more or develop cognitive capabilities, it will help in ones way of thinking. For,example, recently people have used artificial intelligence called Google Dream to create florid and intricate paintings, drawings, which inspired many artists in the world to think on their own. It inspired them to draw, explore their artistic skills, thus by increasing their capacity to think.

While technology can be used in many ways,if it is used in a manner that challenges people to think more and use their dormant parts of the brain, it surely can help. On the other hand, usage of technology for very simple tasks, which can be done without the help of technology, will surely deteriorate ones thinking capacity.