The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The recommendation unequivocally suggests that in order to know oneself better rejection of the familiar is of paramount importance. Nowadays, finding purpose in life has become very important as it helps people place themselves in the society. For this, knowing oneself to the fullest is required. People can live the life to its full potential only when they can understand themselves on a more granular level. Indisputably, in some cases rejection of the familiar is impractical and not recommended. Nevertheless, to live a good quality life understanding oneself is much needed.

What we are today and what we seek today is mostly shaped by the ideas or beliefs of the environment a person grows up in. From a very young age, a child learns from his mother about the world. Mother is the first teacher a baby has. Consequently, the child's knowledge of the world stems from his family. This mostly limits understanding oneself very well as the child is not given a chance to explore any ideas first. In many countries, the child is simply sent off to a school where he or she studies a curriculum set by the state or government. This blinkers the child outlook on the world and this leads to him or her having a narrow outlook on themselves. For instance, in India, there are at least 3,00,000 engineers who graduate every year. Most of them do not even like what they do since they have yielded to their parents' wishes. Most parents want their child to study in a good IIT college preferably in engineering to get a good job. This ultimately puts less importance on what the student wants to do with his life.

Rejecting the familiar self may help in many scenarios other than the formerly stated one. Many individuals have a self-worth which is based on what community thinks of them. For instance, if a girl is body shamed from childhood, she might have the idea that having a fat body is bad and it makes her life miserable. This phenomenon of basing one's self-worth on others view of them is further bolstered by the advent of technology such as Facebook. Consequently, in order to know oneself in a better way, it is good to reject the familiar in most of the cases. The Buddhist monks have an ascetic life in which they follow a very strict discipline in that they do not worry about mundane or worldly matters. They try to find their true self by meditating and praying to Buddha every day.

Admittedly, rejecting the familiar might not be good in some cases. Some people might have gained some very good knowledge about themselves. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi, a person who was instrumental in attaining India's Independence, had a very insightful perspective about himself and the people around him. Had he rejected the beliefs he had we might not see a free India today.

In conclusion, We are what the society makes of us in most cases. So, to find one's true self and attain true self-knowledge it is very important to reject the familiar.