Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

The paragraph promulgates two different views on children's behaviour. Nowadays, children are exposed to media in a plethora of ways, be it television, newspapers, movies, video games. This exposure has led some people to believe that violence in the society is directly proportional to the violence in the media. Most of the times, this is not the case. Children learn to behave from their friends, parents, teachers.

Parents play a vital role in the psychological development of a child. According to doctor Freud, the child's psychological behaviour starts developing from a very young age as early as age 3. At that point in time, most of the children are not exposed to any kind of media. So, they tend to learn from what they see or perceive around them. Some studies even prove that the child learns from his mother even before he or she is born. A child's mentality heavily depends on the environment in which he or she grew up in. If the environment is not good for developing nice habits, children may become bad. For example, if the child's mother and father are involved in drug trafficking or if they fight more often, the child tends to think that this kind of thing is good or might have conflicted emotions.

Moreover, the child's peer groups also have a profound impact on the child's behaviour. For instance, if the child is living in a society where selling drugs, killing people is kind of normal and the child's peers are doing it, then the child is more inclined to do it because he does not know what else to do. On the other hand, if a child is in a group which is more kind-hearted and study oriented, he or she might even go to college in the future. Finally, it all boils down to what kind of personal exposure the child has in his or her primary or teen years.

However, people might argue that media violence is the primary cause. If the child is inherently good or has a good mentality developed from his childhood, he or she is less likely to be affected by this kind of media exposure. For example, a study shows that Playing violent video games does not make a person go out in the real world and shoot people, a belief which many people had previously. In conclusion, the child's behaviour is more dependent on parental role models and his peer groups, rather than media.