Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

What causes children in otherwise peaceful countries to behave violently? Although some may argue that it is due to the increasing amount of violence in media, I believe the true cause lies in the parental role models and peer groups of children.

No matter how violently a child may want to act, the his or her behavior will always be influenced and limited by the environment. For example, a child wanting to shoot others with a gun, would never be able to do that in a country where firearms don't exist, such as Japan. One personal example I can give is of Taisuke, a young boy I spent a lot of time together with while living for a few years in rural Japan. Although Taisuke enjoyed playing bloody gun fighting games and often spoke of secret mafias, he had an extremely soft heart and would never do anything to hurt anyone. I attribute this to his environment and peer groups in peaceful rural Japan, where violence and aggression were virtually non-existent.

In response to those who argue that media is the cause of violence, a vital point to make is that children only have access to what their parents and groups allow them to. No matter how violent news stories airing on television may be, children cannot view these without a television. And, no matter how gruesome young adult video games have become, children cannot access them by themselves. For example, in many countries across the world, what the public has access to is restricted by the government.

In summary, in examining the cause of violence among children, it's crucial that we deeply consider the role of their parental role models and peer groups over that of the media.