The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Recently, an environmental protection group has been circulating a petition against Smith Corporation's proposed land development project on the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve, arguing that it would do nothing but harm the Youngtown's community. However, this petition must be examined carefully, as it contains many unstated assumptions and illogical arguments.

Firstmost, the petition writers claim that the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species living in the area. However, this type of claim needs to be supported with some scientific evidence, such as reports from licensed biologists who have shown that the Preserve provides the necessary environmental conditions for all of the bird species to thrive. It's not unthinkable that biologists could actually find that the Preserve reduced the number of bird species capable of living in Youngtown, due to factors such as providing an environment conducive to natural bird predators.

The environmental protection group also argues that although, Smith Corporation, has promised to "ensure the preservation of the sanctuary," their plans will actually harm it. This kind of reasoning is illogicalunless their is an unstated assumption that companies are above the law and do not have public interest in mind. In reality, however, companies are regularly held accountable by the public, external organizations, and the government. And, companies don't aim to do harm, but instead to increase business and ultimately make profits for their shareholders.

The petition also states that the sale would not benefit the tourist-dependent community under any circumstances. It appears there is an unstated assumption that proposed land developments would hurt the tourist economy, but there is no evidence towards this. On the contrary, it is very possible that Smith Corporation's actions would actually highly benefit the tourism industry of the town, by providing a small hotel and other changes that would make it easier for tourists to visit.

While the arguments made by the environmental protection group may at first seem plausible, they are, in fact, based on many assumptions and faulty logic. It would be wise for all readers of the petition to carefully think before being swayed to sign.