The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor of Hillview City recently expressed his views that Autotech should build a new car manufacturing plant in the city, particularly on the undeveloped Hillview landfill. While the mayor's argument may appear convincing at first, it is based on various unstated assumptions. His claims that the plant construction would provide jobs for thousands of unemployed residents and that the Hillview landfill would be a "perfect location" for a new automobile plant need to be properly questioned.

First off, the mayor claims that the building of the plant would provide jobs for thousands of currently unemployed Hillview residents who formerly worked at Computech. This raises many questions. Are Computech's former employees even capable of doing the new work that Autotech would require in its plant construction? Would the new jobs offered by the plant construction be attractive to the currently unemployed residents? Have the residents found better jobs already? Are the residents still living in Hillview? If the answer to all of these questions was yes, the mayors claims would be strengthened as it would be realistic for the residents to work for Hillview.

The mayor's suggestion of Hillview landfill as a perfect site for construction must also be questioned. Investigating why the landfill has been left undeveloped for decades may be a good starting to point answer the question of whether an automoible plant could be build on the same land. It could very well be the case that the land is unusable due to toxins leached into the soil from toxic waste. Even if the automobile plant could be constructed on the land, it would also need to be validated whether the location of the new plant would be feasible for shipping and delivery of automobile parts and products. It could be the case that the landfill is in a location inaccesible by road or water.

In summary, the mayor needs to do some more work in validating some of the claims he makes, making sure to provide proper evidence and reasoning. Until the mayor does this, his argument would not be convincing to a shrewd audience.